专注于 神经生物学成像

尼康支持各种基于显微镜的神经生物学成像应用

由于组织透明化和多光子活体成像等已有领域的技术进步,神经生物成像领域正在迅速发展,并且也出现了令人兴奋的新技术,如光遗传学和超分辨率显微镜。尼康致力于开发,改进和支持能够实现尖端神经生物学研究的技术。

深入体内和活体成像

多光子成像在大样本中提供卓越的光学切片

多光子显微镜利用高功率飞秒脉冲红外激光激发具有挑战性的样品内部的荧光。吸收多个光子所需的功率密度仅在激光的焦点处实现,将激发限制在小的焦点体积,从而最小化失焦荧光。结合红外光穿透强散射介质的能力,多光子成像提供了卓越的深度穿透和光学切片,这对于拍摄厚的和光散射大的组织是重要的。

  • A1R MP+多光子系统提供多光子系统的深度光学切片性能以及我们新型高清(HD)共振扫描头的高速成像能力。共振扫描可实现视频速率成像(每秒30帧或更高),这对于捕获钙信号等快速动态非常重要。其他高级功能包括用于同时多通道成像的双束扫描、自动激光对准、退扫检测、1300 nm兼容性等。
  • 我们的CFI75水浸系列显微镜物镜提供卓越的红外传输、高数值孔径、长工作距离和大视野。25xW MP具有业界领先的NA = 1.10和2.0 mm工作距离。结合FN1正置显微镜的专用放大模块,我们的LWD 16xW镜头还可用于5.6倍、32倍和64倍放大倍率的成像。

通过开颅对麻醉的YFP-H小鼠(4周龄)进行活体成像。可见整层V锥体神经元和更深的海马神经元。深处成像实现了海马树突的三维成像,最大可达1.4毫米。

用针对1300 nm的落射GaAsP NDD和CFI75 Apochromat 25XC W 1300物镜(NA 1.10,WD 2.0 mm)拍摄

激发波长:1040纳米

照片来源:北海道大学电子科学研究所的川上龙之博士,Terumasa Hibi博士和Tomomi Nemoto博士

①V层中的锥体细胞
②白质
③海马神经纤维
④海马锥体细胞
⑤海马体三维放大图像

电生理

研究人员需要一个稳定且易于获取的显微镜平台来进行敏感的电生理学实验

电生理学是使用微电极读取和操纵电信号来研究生物系统(例如神经元)的电特性。样品可及性是电生理学家的首要任务,因为放置电极需要微米级精度。显微镜必须非常稳定,不会干扰其他测量设备。尼康FN1体视显微镜具有纤薄且易于接触的“I”形外形,可实现最大的样品可访问性和系统定制,非常适合膜片钳实验。我们的FN1滑动式物镜转换器可以轻松缩回和切换物镜,同时避免与敏感仪器发生碰撞。我们的CFI 60水浸系列物镜提供陡峭的机械手接近角、高数值孔径、长工作距离和惰性陶瓷尖端。

光遗传学

图案照明可实现强大的基于光遗传学的应用

光遗传学是一系列实验技术,提供对生物过程的光控,著名的应用包括刺激表达外源性通道视紫红质的单个神经元。此外,诸如荧光钙和电压传感器的光学报告器可用于读出全光学实验设计中的活动。然而,对刺激的时空分布的控制必须是精确的,并且与读出的照明无关。使用数字微镜器件(DMD) (数十万个可独立控制的微尺度反射镜阵列)可以最有效地实现图案化光遗传学刺激。尼康提供多种DMD解决方案 以及用于光遗传学研究的点扫描刺激设备* 。

阅读我们关于光遗传学的应用说明 ,了解如何使用DMD控制胚胎发育过程中的信号传导。

*可提供的产品可能因世界范围而异。

透明化组织成像

设计用于拍摄清晰和折射率匹配样品的物镜

透明化和折射率(RI)匹配技术(如CLARITY)从根本上改变了我们接近组织成像的方式。以前,研究人员会对大型组织进行机械切片,并依次对单个切片进行成像。不幸的是,这种耗时的方法破坏了样本的3D拼接结构,模糊了关键连结点。组织透明化使得可以快速表征整个样本的连续三维结构,提供比以前更好的洞察力。然而,透明化组织的最佳成像需要具有低放大率、高数值孔径的专用物镜。并且该物镜能够针对不同透明化方法带来的不同折射率,来进行光学校正。尼康最近推出了两款新的显微镜物镜来满足这些需求

  • 我们的CFI60 10xC Glyc甘油浸没物镜可以校正1.33-1.51之间的折射率,能够匹配最常见的透明化试剂的折射率,并且数值孔径 = 0.5。
  • 尼康的CFI90 20xC Glyc甘油浸入物镜具有独特的90 mm齐焦距离,可以提供令人难以置信的高数值孔径1.0和大视野,同时保持8.2 mm的超长工作距离。这种功能组合结合NIS-Elements软件中提供的大型图像扫描/拼接工具,可以实现对大型组织成像的客观理想。

超分辨率超微结构成像

超分辨率STORM以纳米级分辨率和高特异性照亮以前看不见的神经元细节

与标准衍射限制显微镜不同,超分辨率技术提供亚细胞器水平分辨率。以前仅通过电子显微镜(EM)观察到的超微结构细胞细节已经通过超分辨率解决,并且具有荧光成像的优异分子特异性和多重能力。随机光学重建显微术(STORM)使用单分子定位的概念来精确定位单个纳米精度的单个荧光发射事件。该技术用于发现轴突细胞骨架的周期性结构(EM不可观察)和轴突初始段支架的结构。一些研究小组已经应用STORM来量化突触蛋白分布。尼康通过我们的N-STORM 5.0系统使神经科学家可以使用STORM技术。此外,我们的N-SIM S结构化照明系统现在能以高达每秒15帧的速度进行快速超分辨率成像。

Christophe Leterrier Ph.D., NeuroCyto, Marseille, France

大视野拼接

强大的工具,先进的图像采集和分析

NIS-Elements软件提供对数据采集、分析和可视化的全面控制。神经生物学应用经常需要处理大样本。NIS-Elements可以轻松执行大型图像扫描/拼接以及z轴序列成像,简化了大型3D(和4D)数据集的采集。强大的可视化工具为数据共享和演示提供了令人惊叹的图像。JOBS等图形编程工具简化了自定义采集和分析工作流程,包括高级条件工作流程(例如,依赖于分析结果的自动采集)。诸如图像分割之类的耗时分析步骤可以简单地集成到智能和自动图像分析例程中。

Focus On Neurobiological Imaging

Nikon supports a variety of microscope-based neurobiological imaging applications.

The neurobiological imaging landscape is rapidly shifting due to technical advances in established fields such as tissue clearing and multiphoton in vivo imaging, but also the emergence of exciting new technologies such as optogenetics and super-resolution microscopy.  Nikon is committed to the development, refinement, and support of technologies enabling cutting-edge neurobiological research.

Deep in vivo and Intravital Imaging

Multiphoton imaging provides superior optical sectioning in large specimens.

Multiphoton microscopies exploit high-power femtosecond pulsed infrared lasers to excite fluorescence deep inside challenging samples. The power density required for absorption of multiple photons is only realized at the focus of the laser, confining excitation to a small focal volume and thus minimizing out-of-focus fluorescence. Combined with ability of IR light to penetrate strongly scattering media, multiphoton imaging provides both superior depth penetration and optical sectioning, important for imaging thick and scattering tissues.

  • The A1R MP+ multiphoton system provides the deep optical sectioning performance of a multiphoton system along with the high-speed imaging ability of our new high definition (HD) resonant scanner. Resonant scanning enables video rate imaging (30 frames per second and greater), important for capturing fast dynamics such as calcium signaling. Other advanced features include dual beam scanning for simultaneous multichannel imaging, auto laser alignment, non-descanned detection, 1300 nm compatibility, and more.
  • Our CFI75 Water Dipping Series of microscope objectives provide exceptional IR transmission, high NA, long working distances, and large fields of view. The 25xW MP features an industry-leading NA = 1.10 and 2.0 mm working distance. Our LWD 16xW lens can be used for imaging at 5.6x, 32x, and 64x magnifications together with a dedicated magnification module for our FN1 upright microscope.

In vivo imaging of an anesthetized YFP-H mouse (4-week-old) via open skull method. Visualization of the entire layer V pyramidal neurons and the deeper hippocampal neurons. Deep imaging achieved for 3-dimensional imaging of hippocampal dendrites up to 1.4 mm into the brain.

Captured with episcopic GaAsP NDD for 1300 nm and CFI75 Apochromat 25XC W 1300 objective (NA 1.10, WD 2.0 mm)

Excitation wavelength: 1040 nm

Photos courtesy of: Drs. Ryosuke Kawakami, Terumasa Hibi and Tomomi Nemoto, Research Institute for Electronic Science, Hokkaido University

① Pyramidal cells in layer V

② White matter

③ Alveus

④ Hippocampal pyramidal cells

⑤ Hippocampus 3D zoom image

Electrophysiology

Researchers require a stable and accessible microscope platform for performing sensitive electrophysiology experiments.

Electrophysiology is the study of the electrical properties of biological systems, such as neurons, using microelectrodes to read and manipulate electrical signals. Sample accessibility is a top priority for electrophysiologists as placement of electrodes requires micron-level precision. The microscope must be exceptionally stable and not interfere with other measuring apparatus. The Nikon FN1 upright microscope features a slim and accessible I-shaped profile for maximum sample accessibility and system customization, perfect for patch clamp experiments. Our sliding nosepiece for the FN1 makes it easy to retract and switch objectives while avoiding collisions with sensitive instrumentation. Our CFI60 Water Dipping Series of objectives lenses provide steep manipulator approach angles, high NA, long working distances, and inert ceramic tips.

Optogenetics

Patterned illumination enables powerful optogenetics based applications.

Optogenetics is a family of experimental techniques providing light-gated control of biological processes, famously including the stimulation of single neurons expressing exogenous channelrhodopsins. Furthermore, optical reporters such as fluorescent calcium and voltage sensors may be used to read out activity in an all-optical experimental design. However, control of the spatiotemporal distribution of stimulation must be precise, and be independent from the readout illumination. Patterned optogenetic stimulation is most robustly achieved using a Digital Micromirror Device (DMD), an array of hundreds of thousands of independently controllable micro-scale mirrors. Nikon offers multiple DMD solutions as well as point-scanning stimulation devices for optogenetics research*.

Read our application note on optogenetics to learn about using a DMD to control signaling in developing embryos.

* Available products may vary depending on world area.

Cleared Tissue Imaging

Objectives designed for imaging cleared and refractive index-matched samples.

Clearing and refractive index (RI) matching techniques such as CLARITY have fundamentally changed how we approach tissue imaging. Previously, researchers would mechanically section large tissues and sequentially image individual slices. Unfortunately, this time-consuming approach disrupts the 3D context of the sample, obscuring critical relationships. Tissue clearing makes it possible to characterize the continuous three-dimensional structure of whole specimens quickly, providing greater insight than previous. However, optimal imaging of cleared tissues requires specialized optics featuring low magnification, high numerical aperture, and the ability to tune optical corrections in the objective for different refractive indices corresponding to different clearing methods. Nikon has recently introduced two new microscope objectives to address these needs:

  • Our CFI60 10xC Glyc glycerin immersion objective can correct for refractive indices between 1.33 – 1.51, able to match the RI of most common clearing reagents, and features NA = 0.5.
  • Nikon’s CFI90 20xC Glyc glycerin immersion objective features a unique 90 mm parfocal distance, allowing for both an incredibly high NA of 1.0 and a large field of view, all while maintaining an ultra-long working distance of 8.2 mm. This combination of capabilities results in an objective ideal for imaging large tissues in combination with the large image scanning/stitching tools available in the NIS-Elements software.

PFC

Striatum

Hippocampus and Amygdala

Ultrastructural Imaging with Super-Resolution

Super-resolution STORM illuminates previously unseen neuronal details with nanoscale resolution and high specificity.

Unlike standard diffraction-limited microscopies, super-resolution techniques provide sub-organelle level resolution. Ultrastructural cellular details previously only observed by electron microscopy (EM) have been resolved by super-resolution, and with the superior molecular specificity and multiplexing capability of fluorescence imaging. STochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM) uses the concept of single molecule localization to pinpoint single fluorescent emission events with single nanometer precision. This technique was used to discover both the periodic structure of the axon cytoskeleton (unobservable by EM) and the architecture of the axon initial segment scaffold. Several research groups have applied STORM towards quantifying synaptic protein distribution. Nikon makes the STORM technique accessible to neuroscientists via our N-STORM system. Furthermore, fast super-resolution imaging at up to 15 frames per second is now possible with our N-SIM S structured illumination system.

Christophe Leterrier Ph.D., NeuroCyto, Marseille, France

Large-Image Stitching

Powerful tools advanced image acquisition and analysis

NIS-Elements software provides comprehensive control of acquisition, analysis, and visualization of your data. Neurobiology applications frequently require working with large samples. NIS-Elements makes it easy to perform both large image scanning/stitching as well as z-stacking, simplifying the acquisition of large 3D (and 4D) datasets. Powerful visualization tools provide stunning images for data sharing and presentation. Graphical programming tools such as JOBS simplifies custom acquisition and analysis workflows including advanced conditional workflows (e.g. automated acquisitions that depend on analysis results). Time-consuming analysis steps such as image segmentation can be simply integrated into intelligent and automated image analysis routines.