尼康仪器(上海)有限公司 | China
Artboard 1
zh Change Region

Global Site

NIS-Elements

显微图像采集与分析已来到新的阶段

人工智能(AI)与深度学习使看似不可能的任务变为了可能。无论是使用极限拍摄参数才能获得的数据还是超长时间或繁杂手动操作的图像结构识别都可以借助AI自动实现。

依托NIS-Elements平台的NIS.ai模块提供可深度定制的图像采集、数据展示及分析功能。


胞核外层结构需要借助强度测量实现。传统的结构识别算法无法区分细胞结构并会有丢失。AI训练却可成功辨认识别细胞核外层结构。

主要特性

无需编程技巧

NIS.ai借助卷积神经网络(CNNs)运作,使用传统分割方法或使用少量代表样品的人为辅助标记后的数据都可作为AI识别的学习素材。实际操作时,软件界面可以为例图轻松设置复杂的深度学习参数,无需设计和使用繁杂的神经网路方法。

自动工具借助训练数据并利用神经网络识别图像结构。训练的结果即可快捷可靠的用于类似样品的自动识别,并且比传统技术有显著的速度提升。

Segmentation Task


Convert.ai

利用识别两个不同通道中的结构,仅拍摄一个通道Convert.ai即可通过训练推测第二通道的图像。

一般,此功能可用于无标记样品的结构识别,或者在不使用紫外激发情况下拍摄。一旦神经网络学习了两个通道的结构特征,在随后的实验中仅拍摄一个通道即可获得第二个通道的图像。这样拍摄效率与样本稳定性都可获得显著提升。

Convert.ai
Original

DAPI标记胞核是细胞计数与识别的常用方法。仅需DIC或相差图像Convert.ai即可用于训练推测DAPI图像。生成的推测图像即可用于图像分割与计数,您无需标记DAPI也不需要拍摄荧光图像。


Enhance.ai

某些样品荧光信号非常微弱,很难得到良好的图像并很难进行图像识别分析。

而且,许多此类样品对光敏感也容易被光漂泊需要尽快的完成拍摄。

Enhance.ai可通过训练网络还原图像细节得到正常的明亮图像。训练结果即可使用短曝光获得正常图像并用于随后的数据分析。

Enhance.ai
Original

DAPI标记胞核样品使用极短曝光拍摄以尽量缩短近紫外光的照射。使用Enhance.ai重现正常信噪比的DAPI通道图像,即可轻松用于识别与计数。

表达CD63-mCherry 的HT1080细胞的快速时间序列3D荧光成像 (95 slices/sec, 持续 5 mins)。在含有CD63囊泡的细胞质膜、胞内体和液泡(多泡体)检测到CD63-mCherry信号。

东京大学理学研究科 Yoshitaka Shirasaki 博士、JFCR 癌症研究所 Kiyotaka Shiba 博士


Segment.ai

利用传统的强度阈值方法对某些图像几乎无法进行分割识别。而使用人工分辨结果训练神经网络即可用Segment.ai功能进行图像识别处理。

借助认为标记和图像比较的训练,神经网络可以学会识别类似的图像,让过去只能借助繁杂人工处理的数据也可以快速识别。

Segment.ai
Original

传统与之方法无法识别相差图像的神经突起结构。Segment.ai利用人工标记的图像训练后集合处理类似图像。


Denoise.ai

所有图像都包含散粒噪声,其会毒害动态样品的拍摄结果。依照其平方根函数,随着信号的减少,散粒噪声会相对增加并得到高噪声的图像。神经网络可模拟此类噪声而无需更多的训练。

新近的荧光技术需要低强度荧光与高速拍摄,Denoise.ai 可以识别并去除图像中的散粒噪声成分,提升清晰度并使用短曝光减少样品光照并提升样品状态稳定性。

Denoise.ai
Original

Denoise.ai 可去除图像中的散粒噪声成分并保留图像结构与强度不受影响。


GA3:具备AI功能的分析流程

使用NIS-Elements通用分析(GA3)模块, 多维传统图像识别与AI工具可相互结合并定制分析工具用于特殊实验的需求。这一功能可用于大数据,实时分析或高内涵数据。

因为GA3的灵活可定制特性,其可快速用于新设计的实验流程。并且分析流程可在实验进行过程中同步进行。

通用分析模块借助Convert.ai标记明场图像的细胞核结构,利用Denoise.ai处理高噪声的荧光通道,转化后的通道同时被用来进行实时目标跟踪。此程序随后即可用来对大量量数据进行测量。


NIS.ai用于图像拍摄流程

NIS.ai工具可与NIS-Elements平台中的所有功能相互结合成为特异的图像工具,用于从基础计数到罕见事件或表型识别的各类分析应用中。

其可用于数据后处理,或者作为实验流程的中间结果并利用NIS-Elements智能拍摄向导进而作为实验步骤转变的依据控制实验方向。

使用JOBS实验向导,定制化的实验流程可利用实时分析结果可控制实验的分支方向,此类方法可获得更高的实验通量和更为定向性的数据采集方法。

实验中使用Segment.ai功能举例,XY位置图像扫描结果的定向表型识别。当某目标细胞确定后自动对其进行刺激实验,如未找到目标细胞则自动进行下一XY位置图像的采集。


结果可定量

人工智能已经普遍用于图像检测,并越来越受到多种应用的青睐。相对传统技术其吸引力来自极高速度与惊人的准确性。同时,AI计算结果的也需进一步验证,并以合理利用。

NIS-Elements软件在训练过程中提供反馈机制以显示其可靠性并保证结果的准确性。

Nikon Instruments Inc. | Americas
Artboard 1
en Change Region

Global Site

NIS-Elements

We are closely monitoring the situation with COVID-19 (coronavirus) and following the guidance of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and federal, state and local health authorities. Learn more about the measures we have put in place.

 

Taking microscope imaging and analysis to the next level

Artificial Intelligence (AI) and deep learning methods are making seemingly impossible tasks now possible. Results only managed by challenging acquisition parameters or by painfully long or manual segmentation methods can now be automated thanks to AI.

The NIS.ai module expands the NIS-Elements platform by building in tailor-made solutions for acquisition, visualization and analysis.


Conventional Thresholding

AI Segmentation

Intensity measurements were desired to be made along the nuclear envelope of cells. Conventional segmentation could not differentiate the cellular structures and misses several cells. AI-trained segmentation recognizes and identifies the nuclear envelope successfully.

Key Features

No programming skills required

NIS.ai employs convolutional neural networks (CNNs) to learn from labeled training data created by either conventional segmentation or human-assisted tracing of small subset of representative samples. When using the module, the software interface makes it easy to apply complex deep learning to sample data, eliminating the need to design a complex neural network and apply training data to it.

Automated tools take this training data and apply the neural network to recognize patterns. The result training recipe can then be applied repeatedly and reliably to similar samples to process or analyze huge volumes of data at significantly faster speed than traditional techniques.

Segmentation Task


Convert.ai

By recognizing patterns present in two different imaging channels, Convert.ai can be trained to predict what the second channel would look like when only the first channel is acquired.

Commonly, this can be used as a segmentation tool for label-free approaches, or imaging without harmful near-UV excitation. Once the neural network learns the pattern common to two channels, then in subsequent experiments the second channel is no longer needed to be acquired. Throughput of acquisition as well as specimen viability both increase as a result.

Convert.ai
Original

DAPI staining of nuclei is a common method allowing cell counting and segmentation. Convert.ai can be trained to predict where the DAPI label is present in DIC or phase images. This predicted channel can then be used for segmentation and counting, without ever having to label the specimen with DAPI or acquire a fluorescence channel.


Enhance.ai

Some fluorescent samples express a very low signal and it is difficult to visualize or extract details for segmentation.

In addition, many of these samples are sensitive to light or photobleach very quickly and need to be imaged as fast as possible.

Enhance.ai can restore details by training the network what properly-exposed images look like. Then this recipe can be applied to underexposed images to restore detail that can be used for further analysis.

Enhance.ai
Original

DAPI stained nuclei are purposefully underexposed to limit the specimen’s exposure to near-UV light. Enhance.ai is used to restore the signal-to-noise ratio to normally exposed DAPI staining, for easy segmentation and counting.

HT1080 cell expressing CD63-mCherry was observed by fast time-lapse, 3D fluorescent imaging (95 slices/sec for 5 minutes). We could detect CD63-mCherry signal on plasma membrane, and in endosomes and vacuoles (multivesicular body), as dancing vesicles. NIS Enhance.ai reduced shot noise and uneven illumination due to Spinning Disk Confocal rotation.

Dr. Yoshitaka Shirasaki (Grad. Sch. Sci., The Univ. of Tokyo) and Dr. Kiyotaka Shiba (Cancer Institute JFCR)

Segment.ai

Some images are nearly impossible to segment by traditional intensity thresholding methods. A neural network can be trained by human classification of structures of interest that cannot easily be defined by classic thresholding and image processing by using Segment.ai.

By tracing features of interest and training these compared to the underlying image, the neural network can learn and apply segmentation to similar images, recognizing features previously only identifiable by painstaking manual tracing approaches.

Segment.ai
Original

Neurites in phase-contrast were not possible to define accurately by traditional thresholding. Segment.ai was trained on hand-traced neurites (human recognized) and learned how to trace neurites in subsequent images.


Denoise.ai

All images contain shot noise, which is a Poisson-distributed noise related to discreetly sampling (acquiring images) of a continuous event. As signal levels decrease, the contribution of shot noise increases and noisy images result, following a square-root function. Such noise therefore is modeled in a neural network and doesn’t need to be further trained.

With new fluorescent techniques pushing intensities lower and acquisition speeds increasing, Denoise.ai can recognize and remove the shot noise component of images, increasing clarity and allowing for shorter exposure times or more exposures of specimens while maintaining viability.

Denoise.ai
Original

Denoise.ai can be applied to remove the shot noise component of images while leaving the underlying structure and intensity values undisturbed.


GA3: an analysis pipeline with AI capabilities

Using NIS-Elements General Analysis (GA3), multiple conventional segmentation and AI tools can be combined to create data measurement routines customized for a specific experiment. These can be applied across multiple images, experiment runs, or high content data.

Because GA3 is freely customizable, it can be adapted to new experiment routines easily. Routines can be embedded as well during experiment acquisition runs.

General Analysis is used to apply Convert.ai to brightfield images to mark nuclei, and Denoise.ai applied to a noisy fluorescence channels. The converted channels can then be tracked over time lapse to measure cell movements. This routine is then applied to multiple data sets for data measurement.


Use NIS.ai as part of an imaging pipeline

NIS.ai tools can be combined with all other features of the NIS-Elements platform to develop imaging protocols and targeted analysis from basic counting through rare event or selective phenotype detection and analysis.

This can be incorporated post-acquisition, or more impactfully, as an integral part of an experimental protocol so that NIS-Elements Intelligent Acquisition analysis results obtained during the experiment run guide the experimental parameters in different directions.

Using the JOBS experiment wizard, customized experiments with embedded analysis tasks and branches based on analysis results can be created, allowing for higher throughput and more targeted acquisitions.

Example of utilizing Segment.ai in an experiment run to analyze XY positions as they are captured, and to search for specific phenotypes. When a target cell is found, a stimulation experiment is performed. If no target cell is found, the experiment proceeds to the next XY position.


Quantifiable Results

Artificial intelligence has become commonly accepted in diagnostic imaging and is an increasingly popular tool for a number of applications. Its appeal over traditional mathematical approaches is both its speed and incredible accuracy. However, it is important to be able to validate the results of AI computations, and to utilize these results appropriately for computational analysis.

NIS-Elements software provides feedback during training routines to indicate the confidence of the trained neural network to provide accurate results.