专注于 病毒学

Movie courtesy of Rudolph Reimer, Heinrich Pette Institute, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology

病毒活性实时成像和量化技术

体型极小(仅5-300 nm)的病毒使得对其结构和功能的研究颇具挑战性。最近几个世纪以来发现了多种病毒并研发出了对抗这些病毒的疫苗,但直到1931年发明电子显微镜之后,人们才第一次看清它们复杂的结构。从那时起,光学显微镜技术(如荧光成像)便在病毒研究领域发挥着日益显著的作用,使得对生物系统中病毒活性的研究成为可能。尼康是领先的先进光学显微镜系统制造商,致力于实时高效获取高分辨率病毒活性图像的拍摄。鉴于快速、可靠分析病毒活性变得愈发重要,尼康将比以往更加坚定地致力于开发和支持针对此类工作的先进系统。

活细胞成像

具有高时空分辨率和最小光漂白的病毒成像

尼康的各种技术储备,包括高速荧光和共聚焦显微镜、基于人工智能(AI)的软件技术以及实时焦点锁定系统(PFS:完美对焦系统),都有助于成功拍摄长时序下光漂白最小化的病毒生理过程。

ECLIPSE Ti2荧光倒置显微镜是应用于病毒学的强大的活细胞成像平台。它具有无与伦比的25 mm视场(FOV),一次拍摄就能捕捉大范围内的细胞和病毒变化和互作。完美对焦系统(PFS)能够防止焦点漂移,确保移动中的细胞和病毒始终处于合焦状态,从而支持长时间高速采集过程中的高分辨率成像。

A1R HD25CSU-W1 SoRa和Crest X-Light V3共聚焦显微镜的视场(达25 mm)几乎是传统共聚焦显微镜视场的两倍。如此大的视场允许在一张图像中收集更多的数据,从而提高了采集效率。全内反射荧光(TIRF)显微镜(其模块可以安装在Ti2倒置显微镜上)的使用也使得实时观察活细胞中的病毒活性成为可能。TIRF使我们能够以非常高的信噪比研究细胞膜附近的过程,例如病毒进入细胞的机制及其对细胞间相互作用影响。增强分辨率在采用光学光子再分配概念的CSU-W1 SoRa转盘式共聚焦显微镜上得以实现。Crest X-Light V3转盘式共聚焦显微镜能在25 mm的宽阔视场上提供均匀照明。

利用A1R HD25的高速共振扫描器可以最大程度减小用于病毒染色的荧光探针的光毒性和光漂白。A1R HD25共聚焦显微镜的优势在于,它可以通过结合高清晰度共振扫描器与25 mm大视场来提高通量。尼康的所有活细胞成像解决方案都结合了NIS-Elements,这是一个统一的采集和分析软件平台,目前支持尼康的NIS.ai深度学习模块,包括Clarify.ai、Denoise.ai和Enhance.ai。

Clarify.ai利用预训练的神经网络自动消除荧光图像中的模糊。Denoise.ai也利用预训练的神经网络实时或在采集后消除共振共聚焦数据中的泊松散粒噪点。当与A1R HD25共聚焦显微镜组合时,Denoise.ai能够让用户快速采集具有低信噪比特征的图像,而要充分分辨此类图像则需要更长的停留时间。Enhance.ai则用于病毒的微光荧光成像,这对微量光敏检测标记是必不可少的。利用匹配的高、低信噪比图像数据训练神经网络,使得它能够快速预测后续输入图像的高信噪比类型。

Enhance.ai
原始图像
Denoise.ai
原始图像
Clarify.ai
原始图像

案例研究:

米国プリンストン大学のLynn Enquist博士のチームは、ニコンの生細胞蛍光イメージングプラットフォーム(ECLIPSE Ti倒立顕微鏡をNIS-Elementsソフトウェアで制御)を利用して、神経細胞培養におけるアルファヘルペスウイルスの輸送と拡散について研究しています。この研究では、蛍光タンパク質融合体を発現するウイルスを、一昼夜にわたりリアルタイムに生細胞タイムラプスイメージングすることにより、一次ニューロンの感染におけるウイルスの集合を解明します。また、この方法は、ウイルスに対する蛍光イメージングの影響を最小限に抑えることができます。

(Taylor, M.P.等人。(2013年)J. Vis. Exp. (78),e50723,doi:10.3791/50723)。

超分辨率

病毒结构和活性的超分辨率成像

病毒颗粒的大小相差很大,直径跨度大约从5 nm到300 nm,相当于从接近传统荧光显微镜分辨率极限到超过该分辨率极限的范围。几百年来,光学显微镜只能分辨XY方向上约200 nm、Z方向上约500 nm的细胞细节,而新型超分辨率技术已经成功分辨出XY方向上约20 nm、Z方向上约50 nm的生物细节。这使得研究具有近分子水平细节的细小微生物和某些情况下的稀有微生物(包括病毒)成为可能。这些超分辨率技术有助于填补传统荧光显微镜与电子显微镜之间的差距。

尼康可为不同的成像应用提供一系列超分辨率系统。结构化照明显微术(SIM)在维持高采集速度和灵活样本制备需求的同时,还能提供X、Y和Z方向上两倍于典型荧光显微镜的分辨率。随机光学重建显微术(STORM)能提供最高水平的细节 - 最高可达传统技术手段能达到的分辨率的10倍。

SIM利用混频的概念识别图像中的超分辨率频率信息。其原理是用各种已知的空间频率图案照亮样本并比较每种图案对图像进行的调制以及后续分析(目的是揭示无法直接观察的超分辨率频率信息并利用该信息计算最终图像)。N-SIM S的采集速度达每秒15帧,这是通过用于图案调制的空间光调制器(SLM)实现的,这对于活细胞中病毒生理活动的观察尤其有帮助。N-SIM S可以在和共聚焦系统相同的显微镜支架上实现。这种关联法允许大视场上的快速共聚焦成像,并保留关注区的超分辨率采集。

N-STORM超分辨率显微镜通过只‘开启’样本中的少量非重叠荧光团超越了光学分辨率极限。它允许高精度识别单一发射事件的质心位置。在多个成像帧上重复该过程能够以前所未有的分辨率(XY方向上约20 nm,Z方向约50 nm)重建整个图像。由于更好地纠正了水介质中的球面像差,尼康的100倍硅浸透镜(NA = 1.35)能够在活细胞培养和较厚样本中提供更为卓越的3D性能。

和所有尼康显微镜一样,NIS-Elements软件是成像成功的基础,并极大简化了超分辨率图像的采集和分析。

案例研究:

位于德国汉堡海因里希·佩特研究所(HPI)的尼康卓越中心(CoE)是以显微术基础理论和前沿技术为主、研究人类病原病毒的研究教育中心。在HPI进行的一项研究表明多色3D STORM技术能够实现丙肝病毒(HCV)感染的超分辨率成像。STORM能够在感染细胞内质网膜上的小脂滴中可视化HCV结构内核和E2包膜蛋白的空间分布。这些共定位区域的直径约为100 nm,人们认为这些区域代表病毒装配位点。

(Eggert、D.等人。(2014年)PloS ONE 9(7):e102511。Doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0102511)。

Focus On Virology

Movie courtesy of Rudolph Reimer, Heinrich Pette Institute, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology

We are closely monitoring the situation with COVID-19 (coronavirus) and following the guidance of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and federal, state and local health authorities. Learn more about the measures we have put in place.

 

Technology for imaging and quantification of virus activity in real time

Due to the extremely small size of viruses (5-300 nm), their structure and function have always been a challenge to study. Over recent centuries, many viruses have been discovered, and vaccines against them developed, but it was the invention of the electron microscope in 1931 that enabled their complex structures to be visualized. Since then, Nikon has become an expert in providing advanced light microscopy systems to image virus structure and infectivity in real time with high resolution and high throughput. When rapid and reliable analysis of viruses is essential, the importance of such equipment has become even more apparent.

Live Cell

A wide range of Nikon’s capabilities, including high-speed widefield or confocal microscopy, Artificial Intelligent (AI) software technology and a real-time focus maintenance system (The Perfect Focus System, PFS) all contribute to long-term, time-lapse imaging of viral processes with minimal photobleaching.

The ECLIPSE Ti2 widefield inverted microscope is a powerful platform for live cell imaging in virology. Its unparalleled 25 mm Field of View (FOV) captures changes and reactions of cells and viruses over a wide area in one shot. The Perfect Focus System (PFS) prevents focal drift, keeping moving cells and viruses in constant focus and thus supporting high-resolution imaging during high-speed and long-term acquisitions.

The A1R HD25, CSU-W1 SoRa and Crest X-Light V3 confocal microscopes have a FOV (up to 25 mm) which is nearly twice that of conventional confocal microscopes. This allows more data to be collected within a single image, resulting in greater efficiency. Real-time observation of viral activities in live cells is also possible using Total Internal Reflection Fluorescence (TIRF) microscopy, modules for which can be installed on the Ti2 inverted microscope. TIRF enables the study of processes near the cell membrane with exceptionally high signal-to-noise, such as the mechanism of viral entry into cells and its impact on cell-cell interactions. Enhanced resolution is achieved on the CSU-W1 SoRa spinning disk confocal using the concept of optical photon reassignment. The Crest X-Light V3 spinning disk confocal provides homogeneous illumination over a large 25 mm FOV.

Phototoxicity and photobleaching of fluorescent probes used to stain viruses can be minimized using the high-speed resonant scanner of the A1R HD25. The power of the A1R HD25 confocal microscope lies in the combination of the high-definition resonant scanner and large 25 mm field of view, which provides high throughput. All of Nikon’s live-cell imaging solutions incorporate NIS-Elements, a unified acquisition and analysis software platform that now supports Nikon's NIS.ai deep learning-based modules, including Clarify.ai, Denoise.ai, and Enhance.ai.

Clarify.ai automatically removes blur from widefield fluorescence images using a pre-trained neural network. Denoise.ai removes Poisson shot noise from resonant confocal data, either in real-time or post-acquisition, and also using a pre-trained neural network. When combined with the A1R HD25 confocal microscope, Denoise.ai enables users to quickly acquire images of low signal-to-noise features that would normally require longer dwell times to sufficiently resolve. Enhance.ai is useful for low-light fluorescence imaging of viruses, which is necessary for light-sensitive detection markers present at low number. The neural network is trained using matched high and low signal-to-noise image data, allowing it to quickly predict high signal-to-noise versions of subsequent input images.

with Enhance.ai
Original
with Denoise.ai
Original
with Clarify.ai
Original

Case study:

The transport and spread of the alphaherpes virus in neuronal cultures has been studied by Dr. Lynn Enquist’s team at Princeton University, USA, utilizing a Nikon live-cell widefield imaging platform (the ECLIPSE Ti inverted microscope controlled by NIS-Elements software). Their work applies real-time and overnight time-lapse live-cell imaging of viruses expressing fluorescent protein fusions to illuminate viral assemblies during infection of primary neurons. Their approach also minimizes the impact of fluorescence imaging on the virus.

(Taylor, M.P. et al. (2013) J. Vis. Exp. (78), e50723, doi:10.3791/50723).

High-content screening

When large scale clinical screening, such as drug and virus testing, is required there is a considerable amount of multidimensional image data produced in a short time. Nikon provides a high-content cell screening platform (BioPipeline Live), a visual programming tool (JOBS) and a high-performance analysis tool (GA3) to streamline and automate your virus imaging workflow.

Nikon’s live-cell high-content imaging platform, BioPipeline Live, provides a great solution for fully automated live-cell imaging in multiple plates. Utilizing all the functionality of the ECLIPSE Ti2 inverted microscope, the BioPipeline Live includes robotic automation for rapid imaging and exchange of up to 44 plates!

The General Analysis 3 (GA3) tool enables simple implementation of complex post-processing analyses. Images include complete metadata, even for settings such as environmental condition, which can be crucial for virus studies. In addition to all the analysis and processing functions NIS-Elements provides, the JOBS module provides the ability to create customized experiment protocols, including conditional workflows. This allows for fully automated acquisition and analysis to be performed, including of multiple plates. This includes immediate viewing of measurement data, well-by-well, and via a heat map for trend observation and further analysis. Throughput with various tasks can be increased along with specimen viability using available NIS.ai deep learning-based modules for NIS-Elements. For example, Segment.ai applies a neural network to automatically segment your images (once trained). JOBS can streamline and automate the entire platform, integrating functions such as device control, image acquisition, processing, and analysis without the need for advanced programming knowledge.

Case study:

Dr. Vibor Laketa’s research group at Heidelberg University, Germany recently developed a semi-quantitative SARS-CoV-2 antibody test for use on human sera. This microscope-based test is demonstrated using a Nikon ECLIPSE Ti2 widefield microscope controlled by the JOBS module in the NIS-Elements software to automatically acquire images in 96-well plates. This new test demonstrates improved sensitivity and specificity compared to a standard ELISA-based diagnostic test, and with high throughput, which is necessary for large screening programs.

(Pape, C. et al. (2020) bioRxiv (preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.06.15.152587)).

Super-Resolution

Super-resolution imaging of viral structure and activity

Viral particles vary greatly in size, spanning approximately 5 to 300 nm in diameter, which ranges from beyond to close to the resolution limit of conventional fluorescence microscopy. For hundreds of years, optical microscopy could only resolve cellular details to approximately 200 nm in XY and 500 nm in Z, but new super-resolution techniques have been successful in resolving biological details to about 20 nm in XY and 50 nm in Z. This makes it possible to investigate small and, sometimes, rare microorganisms (including viruses) with near-molecular level detail. These super-resolution techniques help bridge the gap between conventional fluorescence microscopy and electron microscopy.

Nikon offers a range of super-resolution systems for different imaging applications. Structured Illumination Microscopy (SIM) provides twice the resolution of a typical widefield microscope in X, Y and Z while maintaining high acquisition speed and flexible sample preparation requirements. STochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM) provides the greatest level of detail - up to 10x greater resolution than conventional techniques.

SIM uses the concept of frequency mixing to identify super-resolution frequency information in the image. This works by illuminating the sample with various patterns of known spatial frequency and comparing how the image is modulated by each pattern, with subsequent analysis uncovering super-resolution frequency information that is not directly observable and using it to compute the final image. The acquisition speed for the N-SIM S is up to 15 frames per second, which is enabled by using a Spatial Light Modulator (SLM) for pattern modulation, and especially useful for visualizing the fast progression of viral activity in live cells. The N-SIM S can be implemented on the same microscope stand as a confocal system. Such a correlative approach allows fast confocal imaging of large fields of view, reserving super-resolution acquisition for regions of interest.

The N-STORM super-resolution microscope pushes the limits of optical resolution by only ‘switching on’ a small number of non-overlapping fluorophores in a sample. This allows the centroid position of single emission events to be identified with high precision. Repeating this process over many imaging frames allows for the complete image to be reconstructed at unprecedented resolution, to approximately 20 nm in the XY and 50 nm in the Z directions. Nikon’s 100x silicone immersion lens (NA = 1.35) enables superior 3D performance in live-cell cultures and thicker samples as it better corrects for spherical aberration in aqueous media.

As with all of Nikon’s microscopes, the NIS-Elements software is fundamental to successful imaging, greatly simplifying the acquisition and analysis of super-resolution images.

Case study:

The Nikon Center of Excellence (CoE) at the Heinrich Pette Institute (HPI), Hamburg, Germany, is a hub for research and education on the fundamentals of and advances in microscopy for investigating human pathogenic viruses. A study at HPI demonstrated the capabilities of multicolor 3D STORM technology for super-resolution imaging of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection. STORM enabled the spatial distribution of the structural core and E2 envelope protein of HCV to be visualized in small lipid droplets on the membrane of the endoplasmic reticulum in infected cells. These areas of co-localization have a diameter of approximately 100 nm and are thought to represent viral assembly sites

(Eggert, D. et al. (2014) PloS ONE 9(7): e102511. Doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0102511).